Advancement Board

Gordo Wood (Utah ASLA Student Chapter President) presents Noelle Cockett (Dean of the College of Agriculture) with this years Student ASLA t-shirt.

 To view a panorama of the Jury Room that was funded by the Advancement Board please click here.

The Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning is very fortunate to have dedicated individuals who are committed to serving on our Advancement Board. The LAEP Advancement Board is comprised of some of the most successful people working in the discipline today. Most are alumni of the program, however some are professionals, academics or public servants who were invited to serve.

The Advancement Board meets annually in the fall, when members travel to Logan at their own expense. The Board also reports quarterly through conference calls to address progress for each standing committee. In the fall meeting the Department outlines the current needs and accomplishments of the past year, outlining the multi-year strategy for their priorities. Each Board member serves on a standing committee selected based upon their experience and interests. The Board hears reporting from the LAEP students to ask questions and assess the Department from the student perspective.
Board members provide substantial support through personal donations to the Department, as well as resources they garner from private and corporate support. Members also provide professional expertise in studios during critiques or special projects such as the annual Charrette.

The latest version of the Advancement Board Bylaws were approved October 2012:

Click here for the 2012 Advancement Board By-Laws

A list of Committees and their corresponding website can be found here.

A list of past Advancement Board meetings and their notes can be found here.

Current LAEP Advancement Board Members

Corbett Belcher
Mia Lehrer Associates

Prashanta Bhat
The Landscape Company

Jay Bollwinkel
MGB & A, Inc.

Jereck Boss
The Office of James Burnett

Walter Bremer
California Polytechnic State University

Kenneth Brooks
Arizona State University

Terrall Budge
Loci, LLC

Vern Budge
Professor Emeritus

S.J. Camarata

Walt Cole
Clark Nexson

Mark Dawson
Sasaki Associates Inc

Joe Donaldson
Ecology and Environment, Inc

Geoff Ellis
Oakcrest Design LLC

Kelly Gillman
Cooper Roberts Simonsen Architects

Larry Harmsen

Gregory Haws
GH Design

Charles Houghten
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Services

Randy Jackson

Craig Johnson
Professor Emeritus

Todd Johnson
Practitioner-in-Residence, LAEP

Jamie Maslyn Larson
West 8 Urban Design & Landscape Architecture

Abraham Medina
Colorado State Board of Land Commissioners

Nancy Monteith
Salt Lake City Corporation

Jay Nielsen
Community Planning Consultant

Chris Sands
Bio-West Inc

Dale Schafer
Thomas Balsley Associates

Linda Snyder
Tufts University

Jan Striefel
Landmark Design Inc

John Suarez
SBD Studio

Rob Sweeten
Bureau of Land Management

Mark van der Zalm
van der Zalm + Associates Inc